A new development plan for the corner of Court and State Street may be delayed.

This past spring, developers had planned to have the Visions Federal Credit Union anchor a multipurpose building planned for the area. The project was anticipated to include apartments for student housing on the upper floors. Visions Federal Credit Union already has a branch downtown in the MetroCenter, but the new project’s lot is located close to popular bars and restaurants frequented by Binghamton University students. However, plans have recently stalled, with Visions Federal Credit Union leaving the project.

Mark Yonaty, head developer of the project and owner of M.B. Yonaty Development, outlined the issues he has faced with development.

“Visions backing out of the deal really hurt the project in its entirety,” Yonaty said. “They were the anchor tenant that I have been working with for the past five years. That certainly has affected the overall project. I think cost of materials and inflation has really driven its [expenses] up. Hopefully we’ll see materials come down, hopefully more in line where this project can move forward and be successful. We’ll see what the climate is and whether they want to salvage this project.”

Yonaty also discussed the timeliness of the project and his personal stakes in the development.

“Right now, because of grants with Empire State Development, time is ticking away,” Yonaty said. “I am passionate about moving forward. I have a significant amount of money invested in the project, so there’s no benefit for me to walk away and lose. At the same time, I want to have a bankable and solid tenant before we get started [on construction]. That could be with Visions, but it could also be other potential tenants.”